Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

We are continuing to organise full-scale virtual conferences which retain all the features of physical seminars, including full programmes, presentations with slides, panel discussions and live delegate questions and comments sessions, person-to-person and group networking, and a permanent record provided to all delegates afterwards. New events are coming on to our conference programme all the time, so there are plenty of opportunities to join us if you haven’t already, from wherever you are.
For booking-related queries or information on speaking please email us at info@forumsupport.co.uk, or call +44 (0)1344 864796.

If you’re already booked on, joining instructions can be accessed from five working days before your conference via the booking dashboard. Need help? You can contact our Delegate Relations team at delegate.relations@forumsupport.co.uk or by calling the above number.

Next steps for innovation and research in the UK energy sector

Morning, Friday, 8th October 2021

***Full-scale policy conference taking place online***

Areas for discussion include:

  • policy priorities for supporting innovation in energy technology
  • the scope and potential for innovation across UK energy, and what is needed to maximise innovation’s contribution to sector growth and decarbonisation
  • support for research partnerships, commercialisation, regional hubs, and workforce development
  • decarbonising energy network infrastructure and preparing national capacity for decentralised energy assets
  • promoting innovation across key sectors and emerging technologies

The conference will be an opportunity to examine progress and priorities for the £1bn Net Zero Innovation Portfolio fund, which is a successor to the Energy Innovation Programme that comes to an end this year.

The discussion also takes place in the context of the Government’s Energy White Paper, as well as the Ten Point Plan for a Green Industrial Revolution.

We are pleased to be able to include keynote contributions from: Matthew Billson, Deputy Director, Energy Innovation - Strategy and Portfolio and Co-Lead, £1bn Net Zero Innovation Portfolio and Advanced Nuclear Fund, BEIS; Gemma Head, Head of Skills, East of England Energy Group; Philip New, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Systems Catapult; and Iliana Portugues, Head of Innovation, Electricity Transmission, National Grid Partners.

Further contributors come from: Drax Group; ECITB; The Faraday Institution; Howard Kennedy; Innovate UK; National Grid ESO; the National Nuclear Laboratory; Progressive Energy; the Renewable Energy Association; Sizewell C; the University of Strathclyde; and Upside Energy. The chairs are Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP, Chair, All-Party Parliamentary Group for Energy Security, and Lord Ravensdale, Officer, All-Party Parliamentary Group for Energy Studies.


Our forums are known for attracting strong interest from policymakers and stakeholders. Places have been reserved by parliamentary pass-holders from the House of Commons, and officials from BEIS; the Crown Commercial Service; the Department for International Trade; the Department for the Economy, NI; Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications, ROI; the Health and Safety Executive; the Office for Life Sciences; The Planning Inspectorate; The Scottish Government; the UK Space Agency; and the Welsh Government. Also due to attend are representatives from arbnco; Bain & Company; British Geological Survey; Burges Salmon; Coal Authority; DNV; Frazer-Nash Consultancy; Inline Policy; Institution of Mechanical Engineers; Jacobs; New Forest Energy; OGTC; Reddie & Grose; Siemens Energy; Smart DCC; South Gloucestershire Council; SSEN Transmission; The Coal Authority and University of Leeds.

Press passes have been reserved by representatives from ICIS and S&P Global Platts.

Overall, we expect speakers and attendees to be a senior and informed group including Members of both Houses of Parliament, senior government and regulatory officials involved in this area of policy, as well as from BEIS, Defra, DfT and other relevant departments, transport and environment professionals, representatives of transport organisations, academics, local government, charities and passenger groups, together with reporters from the national and trade media.

This is a full-scale conference taking place online***

  • full, four-hour programme including comfort breaks - you’ll also get a full recording and transcript to refer back to
  • information-rich discussion involving key policymakers and stakeholders
  • conference materials provided in advance, including speaker biographies
  • speakers presenting via webcam, accompanied by slides if they wish, using the Cisco WebEx professional online conference platform (easy for delegates - we’ll provide full details)
  • opportunities for live delegate questions and comments with all speakers
  • a recording of the addresses, all slides cleared by speakers, and further materials, is made available to all delegates afterwards as a permanent record of the proceedings
  • delegates are able to add their own written comments and articles following the conference, to be distributed to all attendees and more widely
  • networking too - there will be opportunities for delegates to e-meet and interact - we’ll tell you how!

Full information and guidance on how to take part will be sent to delegates before the conference

Keynote Speakers

Matthew Billson

Deputy Director, Energy Innovation - Strategy and Portfolio and Co-Lead, £1bn Net Zero Innovation Portfolio and Advanced Nuclear Fund, BEIS

Philip New

Chief Executive Officer, Energy Systems Catapult

Gemma Head

Head of Skills, East of England Energy Group

Keynote Speakers

Matthew Billson

Deputy Director, Energy Innovation - Strategy and Portfolio and Co-Lead, £1bn Net Zero Innovation Portfolio and Advanced Nuclear Fund, BEIS

Philip New

Chief Executive Officer, Energy Systems Catapult

Iliana Portugues

Futurist, Siemens Energy Transmission

Gemma Head

Head of Skills, East of England Energy Group


Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP

Chair, All-Party Parliamentary Group for Energy Security

Lord Ravensdale

Officer, All-Party Parliamentary Group for Energy Studies


Dr Nina Skorupska

Chief Executive, The Association for Renewable Energy and Clean Technology

Jonathan Cohen

Partner, Head of Energy, Howard Kennedy

Humphrey Cadoux-Hudson

Managing Director, Nuclear Development, Sizewell C

Graham Oakes

Independent Consultant, Formerly Founder, Upside Energy

Dr Fiona Rayment

Chief Science and Technology Officer, National Nuclear Laboratory

Dr Biljana Stojkovska

Innovation Manager, National Grid ESO

Harsh Pershad

Senior Innovation Lead - Energy, Innovate UK

Professor Feargal Brennan

Head of Department, Naval Architecture, Ocean and Marine Engineering, University of Strathclyde

Dr Chris Manson-Whitton

Director, Progressive Energy

Mike Maudsley

Group Operations Director, Drax Group

Professor Pam Thomas

Chief Executive Officer, The Faraday Institution

David Nash

Director, Strategy and Policy, ECITB