Policy Forum for London

Priorities for transport in London and the South East: infrastructure, funding, and the Mayor's Transport Strategy

Morning, Thursday, 29th June 2017

Central London


Focusing on the future of the London transport network and connectivity in the South East in the context of TfL developing the Mayor’s new Transport Strategy, discussion at this conference will bring out latest thinking on challenges and opportunities around modernising the transport system to meet growing demands and the investment needed to deliver change.

Further sessions will address questions about how future major infrastructure schemes such as expansion at Heathrow will impact the wider network and the policy environment to accommodate this from central government and the Greater London Authority.

Following the Mayor of London’s announcement of a new daily ‘Toxicity Charge’ beginning later this year that will be applied to the most polluting vehicles, delegates will also consider issues around sustainable development and ensuring upgrades of the transport system meet the environmental needs of the South, as well as those of passengers, businesses and local councils.

Guest of Honour

Mike Brown

Commissioner, Transport for London

Guest of Honour

Mike Brown

Commissioner, Transport for London


Lord Kennedy of Southwark

House of Lords Shadow Spokesperson, Communities and Local Government

Steve O’Connell AM

Member, Transport Committee and Chair, Police & Crime Committee, London Assembly


Kieran Rix

Divisional Director, Future RIS, Highways England

Sharon Hedges

Franchise Programme Manager, Transport Focus

Richard Howard

Head of Environment & Energy, Policy Exchange

Lawrie Quinn

Project Director - Transportation, Atkins and Chair, London Regional Committee, Institute of Civil Engineers

Emma Gilthorpe

Executive Director - Expansion, Heathrow Airport

Chris Rowley

Principal Strategic Planner - London and South East, Network Rail

Heather Cheesbrough

Director of Planning and Strategic Transport, Croydon Council