Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Next steps for reducing plastic waste: innovation, incentives and options for policy

Morning, Thursday, 6th December 2018

Central London


With a range of policy initiatives in development, delegates will consider practicalities and priorities for reducing plastic waste and incentivising progress - including the proposed ban on single-use plastics products across the European Union market, such as plastic plates, cutlery and straws; the consultation on the impact of a single-use plastic ban by the UK Government; the potential impact of a plastic bottle deposit return scheme, and the Government consultation later this year on reforming retail plastic bag charges.

Delegates will also examine latest thinking on improving recycling rates - looking at developments in adopting new technologies, notable examples of innovation and best practice, and potential outcomes from the government consultation on measures to help local authorities enforce the duty of care on household waste.

With the Government expected to publish its resources and waste strategy later this year, further sessions consider issues around extended producer responsibility, supply chains, long-term behavioural change and wider environmental implications, as well as the opportunities for the UK Plastics Pact to develop a circular economy for plastics.

The seminar will also be an opportunity to discuss key themes that have emerged from the Government consultation assessing the viability of tax incentives to tackle the use of single-use plastics, and takes place in the context of the Government’s 25 Year Environment Plan, aiming to eliminate all avoidable plastic waste by 2042.



Guest of Honour

Dr Marcus Gover

Chief Executive Officer, WRAP

Guest of Honour

Dr Marcus Gover

Chief Executive Officer, WRAP

Keynote Speakers

Trevor Nicoll

Junior Vice President, CIWM and Head of Shared Waste, Cambridge City and South Cambridgeshire District Councils

Dawn Woodward

Deputy Head, Resource and Waste, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


Mary Creagh MP

Chair, Environmental Audit Committee


Richard Kirkman

Chief Technology and Innovation Officer, Veolia UK

Carole Taylor

Chair and North West Representative, LARAC

Sandy Luk

Chief Executive Officer, Marine Conservation Society

Simon Tilling

Partner, Burges Salmon

Professor John McGeehan

Director, Centre for Enzyme Innovation (CEI), Institute of Biological & Biomedical Sciences, University of Portsmouth

Speaker confirmed from the British Plastic Federation

Jayne Harrold

Director, UK Environmental Tax Leader, PwC

Alexander Renggli

Chairman, Association of Economic Representatives and Counsellor and Head, Economic, Finance, Science & Innovation Section, Embassy of Switzerland