Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Next steps for the UK’s railway infrastructure

Morning, Thursday, 1st March 2018

Central London


Providing a timely opportunity for delegates to consider the policy and regulatory environment for future expansion and modernisation of the network, this seminar will assess the next steps for UK rail infrastructure management and development.

With proposals put forward for Phase 2 of HS2, the recent endorsement of Crossrail 2 by Government and ongoing development of spending and delivery obligations in Control Period 6, discussion is expected to focus on the outlook for major project delivery and the pipeline for new schemes to upgrade and build upon the existing network.

Additional discussion is also expected on the key findings from the Transport Committee’s inquiry into the current system of planning and delivering investment in rail infrastructure as well as on the reforms announced by Network Rail that will open up involvement for more companies in infrastructure investment and delivery. Sessions will look into the opportunities for the domestic supply chain and the skills base to work on future projects.

Attendees will also have the opportunity to evaluate prospects for managing the priorities of all rail users and stakeholders affected by further development of the network, including ensuring infrastructure investments help facilitate intermodal freight and passenger development, whilst promoting economic growth and addressing potential environmental impacts.  

Guests of Honour

Mark Carne

Chief Executive, Network Rail

Paul Maynard MP

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Rail, Accessibility and HS2, Department for Transport

Senior speaker confirmed from HS2

Guests of Honour

Paul Maynard MP

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Rail, Accessibility and HS2, Department for Transport

Mark Carne

Chief Executive, Network Rail

Senior speaker confirmed from HS2

Keynote Speakers

Gregor Craig

President and Chief Executive, Skanska UK

Neil Robertson

Chief Executive, National Skills Academy for Rail

Jeremy Long

Chief Executive Officer, European Business, MTR Corporation

Joanna Whittington

Chief Executive, Office of Rail and Road


Baroness Randerson

Liberal Democrat Lords Spokesperson for Transport

Lilian Greenwood MP

Chair, House of Commons Transport Select Committee


Lindsay Durham

Head of Rail Strategy, Freightliner Group

Robert Eaton

Head of Planning and Development, Birmingham Airport

Stephen Trotter

Director for England, The Wildlife Trusts

David Frost

Chair, Stoke-on-Trent & Staffordshire Local Enterprise Partnership

Chris Page

Chairman, Railfuture