Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

The next steps for nuclear energy projects in the UK

Morning, Tuesday, 16th October 2018

Central London


This seminar will be a timely opportunity to discuss the outlook for new nuclear projects in the UK and follows the recent announcements of a £200 million Nuclear Sector Deal and government negotiations with Hitachi in relation to the proposed Wylfa Newydd project.

In the context of the National Infrastructure Commission’s recommendations that nuclear projects be continued on a one-by-one basis due to the lower cost of renewables, delegates will consider the latest thinking on how to reduce the cost of nuclear power without compromising safety.

Planned sessions will assess the role of nuclear power in ensuring the UK’s energy security as coal generation is phased out, as well as priorities for effectively incentivising innovation in the context of the nuclear innovation fund to support future nuclear fuels, new nuclear manufacturing techniques, recycling and reprocessing, and advanced reactor design.

We also expect discussion to bring out most recent thinking on the environmental impact of nuclear projects, particularly in the areas of waste and construction following a Government consultation on decommissioning as well as on the international investment climate for the industry.

Guest of Honour

Tom Samson

Chief Executive Officer, NuGen

Guest of Honour

Tom Samson

Chief Executive Officer, NuGen

Keynote Speakers

Stephen Speed

Director, Nuclear, BEIS

Michael Kell

Director for Energy VFM, National Audit Office

Paul Westbury

Group Technical Director, Laing O'Rourke

Bruce McKirdy

Managing Director and Executive Director, Radioactive Waste Management


Liz Saville Roberts MP

Plaid Cymru Spokesperson on Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Albert Owen MP

Member, House of Commons Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Select Committee


Joe Perkins

Chief Economist, Ofgem

Patrick Robinson

Partner, Planning, Burges Salmon

Dr Paul Dorfman

Honorary Senior Research Associate, Energy Institute, University College London

Andrew Storer

Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear AMRC

Tim Yeo

Chairman, New Nuclear Watch Europe

Tom Greatrex

Chief Executive, Nuclear Industry Association

Dr Kirsty Hewitson

Vice President, Innovation, National Nuclear Laboratory