Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Next steps for natural environment policy in England

Thursday, 27th April 2017

Central London


This seminar will provide an opportunity to assess the next steps for biodiversity, wildlife conservation and natural capital, including priorities for natural environment policy in the context of Brexit.

Delegates will evaluate the Government’s progress towards delivering a 25-year Environment Plan and the central role of the Natural Capital Committee in advising and helping to deliver this. Further discussion will consider opportunities and case studies in sustainable land and wildlife management, promoting and managing ecosystem services and creating value from the natural environment through investment and natural capital accounting.

Following the publication of the Environmental Audit Committee’s report on the future of the natural environment after Brexit, and their recommendation of a new Environmental Protection Act to safeguard wildlife and habitat protections, delegates will assess the future impact of the EU referendum on environmental regulation and investment in environmental conservation schemes, as well as the funding available to charities and research in the sector.

Guest of Honour

Shirley Trundle

Director, Countryside and Nature, Defra

Guest of Honour

Shirley Trundle

Director, Countryside and Nature, Defra

Keynote Speakers

Professor Paul Leinster

Professor of Environmental Assessment, Cranfield University

Harvey Bradshaw

Executive Director of Environment and Business, Environment Agency

Liz Newton

Director, Strategy Development, Natural England


Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP

former Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (2012-2014)

Baroness Parminter

Liberal Democrat Lords Principal Spokesperson for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


Louise Martland

Programme Manager - National Delivery, The Environment Bank

Dr Dominic Hogg

Chairman, Eunomia Research & Consulting and Chair, West of England Nature Partnership

Andrew Heald

Technical Director, Confederation of Forest Industries (ConFor)

Dr Hugh Ellis

Head of Policy, Town and Country Planning Association

Dr Richard Benwell

Head of Government Affairs, Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust (WWT)

Patrick Begg

Rural Enterprises Director, National Trust

Dr Diane Mitchell

Chief Environment Adviser, National Farmers’ Union

Speaker confirmed from the Confederation of Forest Industries (ConFor)

Ben Williams

Programme Lead, NHS Forest and Green Spaces, Centre for Sustainable Healthcare

Martin Crow

Senior Sustainability Manager, Hanson UK

Sasha Leigh

Head of Policy Partnerships, Natural Environment Research Council