Westminster Higher Education Forum

The future for UK science and innovation funding and policy - Brexit, the HE and Research Bill and supporting disruptive innovation

Thursday, 2nd February 2017

Central London


This timely conference will draw together key policymakers and affected stakeholders to discuss the future of science and innovation policy.

It is held at a time of uncertainty over the long-term impact of the EU referendum result on UK science funding and collaborations. It also follows the Government’s commitments - in the Autumn Statement - to increase research spending by £2bn a year by 2020, a new Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund focused on ‘priority technologies’ such as robotics and biotechnology and a review of R&D tax incentives.

Topics for discussion will also include potential further reform of IP laws, improving access to finance for disruptive start-ups and ‘challenger businesses’, as well as how the UK can retain and continue to attract R&D-intensive businesses to operate here.

Sessions will also look wider at reforms to the structure of the Research Councils proposed in the Higher Education and Research Bill, and the implications of UK research funding priorities, including for key scientific infrastructure and the next steps for the Catapult Centre programme.

Guests of Honour

Kevin Baughan

Chief Development Officer, Innovate UK

Stephen Metcalfe MP

Chair, Science and Technology Select Committee

Guests of Honour

Stephen Metcalfe MP

Chair, House of Commons Science and Technology Committee

Kevin Baughan

Chief Development Officer, Innovate UK


Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods MP

Chair, All-Party Parliamentary University Group and Member, House of Commons Science and Technology Committee

Victoria Borwick MP

Member, House of Commons Science and Technology Committee


Priti Bansel-Branch

Associate, Shoosmiths

Dr Rebecca Lumsden

Head of Science Policy, ABPI

Dr Amanda Begley

Director of Innovation and Implementation, UCLPartners

Lou-Davina Stouffs

Research and Programme Manager, Innovation Growth Lab, Nesta

Dr Martin Szomszor

Consultant Data Scientist, Digital Science

Dr Nicola Broughton

Investment Director and Head of Universities, Mercia Technologies

Dr Tim Hart

Managing Consultant, Isis Enterprise, Oxford University Innovation

John Maguire

Chief Financial Officer, Intelligent Energy

Professor Sumantra Ray

Executive Director, NNEdPro Global Centre for Nutrition and Health, Cambridge

Tim German

Stakeholder Manager, Energy Systems Catapult

Simon Andrews

Executive Director, Fraunhofer UK Research

James Cross

Partner, Maucher Jenkins

Dr Faye Taylor

Head of Programmes, University Alliance