Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Priorities for energy security in the UK

Thursday, 9th March 2017

Sixty One Whitehall, London SW1A 2ET


Timed to follow the recent Capacity Market auction that included low-carbon battery storage for the first time, and held after the conclusion of a Government consultation into phasing out unabated coal generation by 2025, this seminar will provide a timely opportunity to assess initiatives and policy priorities for a secure energy supply.

Delegates will consider the future mix of electricity generation sources for the UK, including the roles of fossil fuels, nuclear and renewable energy in delivering reliable and affordable energy. It will also follow the formal launch of the Oil and Gas Authority as the independent oil and gas industry regulator with responsibility for maximising the economic recovery of resources from the North Sea, in addition to the decision made by the Communities Secretary to approve plans for horizontal shale extraction at a site in Lancashire and discussion will assess the impact this will have on future onshore oil and gas development.

Discussion will also focus on the next steps for regulation of a competitive market and opportunities to improve network flexibility in providing secure energy, such as the role of energy storage in balancing supply and reducing demand pressures, as well as new technologies available to the industry to improve management of the network.

Guest of Honour

Dan Monzani

Head of Energy Security, BEIS

Guest of Honour

Dan Monzani

Head of Energy Security, BEIS

Keynote Speakers

Andrew Wright

Senior Partner, Energy Systems, Ofgem

Gary Haywood

Chief Executive Officer, INEOS Shale


Cathy McClay

Head of Commercial Operations, National Grid

Dr Martin Grant

Chief Executive Officer - Energy, Atkins

Tom Burke

Co-Founding Director and Chairman, E3G and Environmental Policy Adviser, Rio Tinto

Oliver McMillen

Head of Corporate Affairs (Wholesale), SSE

George Baker

Chief Product Officer, VCharge

Yoav Zingher

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, KiWi Power

Frank Mitchell

Chief Executive Officer, SP Energy Networks

Silke Goldberg

Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills

Barbara Vest

Director of Generation, Energy UK

Miles Alexander

Investment Director, Sustainable Development Capital