Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Next steps for low emission vehicles - innovation, investment and delivery

Morning, Tuesday, 9th October 2018

Central London


This seminar will be a timely opportunity to discuss key issues for the development of low emission transport in the UK.

Delegates will discuss the potential impact of the planned Automated and Electric Vehicles Bill - which seeks to improve the availability of electric charge points and insurance for driverless cars - as well as looking at commitments set out in the Clean Growth Strategy to further develop transport infrastructure and take advantage of emerging technologies.

Planned sessions discuss the challenges for promoting innovation in hybrid and battery technology, the opportunities for vehicle-to-grid technologies following the announcement of £30 million funding for the schemes, priorities for attracting investment in new types of electric vehicles, and the further action that might be taken to lower emission levels in line with the targets laid out in the Paris Agreement.

Attendees will also consider the way ahead for developing the electric vehicles market and infrastructure, in light of the BEIS Select Committee inquiry, and the prospects for the increased electrification of private and public transport.

Guest of Honour

Natasha Robinson

Head, Office of Low Emission Vehicles, Department for Transport

Guest of Honour

Natasha Robinson

Head, Office of Low Emission Vehicles, Department for Transport

Keynote Speakers

Paul Campion

Chief Executive Officer, Transport Systems Catapult

Philippa Oldham

Head of National Network Programmes, Advanced Propulsion Centre


Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb


David Martell

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Chargemaster

Jonas Strömberg

Sustainability Director, Buses & Coaches, Scania

Councillor Gerard Hargreaves

Lead Member, Planning and Transport, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Karl Anders

National EV Manager, Nissan GB

Daniel Saunders

Investment Director, Octopus Investments

Rhian Kelly

Head, UK & EU Public Affairs, National Grid

Ross Fairley,

Partner and Head of Energy, Power and Utilities, Burges Salmon

Tom Pakenham

Director, Electric Vehicles, Ovo Energy

Matt Dyer

Managing Director, LeasePlan UK