Westminster Media Forum

Priorities for the UK creative industries workforce post-Brexit

Thursday, 30th March 2017

Church House, Dean's Yard, London SW1P 3NZ


Bringing together officials and senior representatives from across the creative Industries, this seminar will consider the priorities for ensuring the UK creative workforce remains globally competitive during and after the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union.

It takes place in the context of the Government’s Building our Industrial Strategy consultation which announced an independent review to be chaired by Sir Peter Bazalgette into the creative industries to help inform an early sector deal. It also takes place as the Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee conduct an inquiry into the impact of Brexit on the creative industries, particularly the sector’s ability to attract and retain talent from around the world.

The seminar also follows the publication of the Creative Industries Council’s growth strategy, Create Together, which sets strategic industry and government goals over the next five years, particularly focusing on fostering an industry-led skills and education system to support a diverse workforce.

Sessions will focus on the potential impact of changes to access agreements within the EU single market on the UK’s creative workforce, with particular focus on the movement and retaining of skilled workers, and filling the public funding gaps for training schemes, higher education and SMEs.

Guest of Honour

Seetha Kumar

Chief Executive, Creative Skillset

Guest of Honour

Seetha Kumar

Chief Executive, Creative Skillset


John Nicolson MP

Shadow SNP Spokesperson (Culture, Media and Sport) and Member, House of Commons Culture, Media and Sport Committee


Julian Cobley

Managing Director, The Skills & Growth Company

Denise Proctor

Chief Executive Officer, Noise Festival

Clive Gillman

Director, Creative Industries, Creative Scotland

Dr George Windsor

Senior Policy Researcher, Creative and Digital Economy, Nesta

Sally Benton

Director of Policy and Research, Design Council

Morag Blazey

Managing Principal, Marketing Intelligence, Ebiquity

Emma de la Fosse

Chief Creative Officer, Ogilvy & Mather Group UK

Dick Penny

Managing Director, Watershed

Dr Jonathan Wardle

Deputy Director and Director of Curriculum and Registrar, National Film and Television School

Deborah Annetts

Chief Executive, Incorporated Society of Musicians

Melanie Lane

Partner and Head of Employment Group, Olswang