Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Next steps for localised energy policies and community energy

Morning, Thursday, 7th June 2018

The Caledonian Club, 9 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DR


This conference discusses the future prospects for the development of localised energy policies and next steps for supporting community and cooperative ownership of energy generating infrastructure.

It takes place in the context of the Government’s announcements in the Clean Growth Strategy of the launch of a Local Energy programme, with the aim of supporting the delivery of the Smart System Plan; a Local Energy Contact Group, that builds on the work done by Community Energy Contact Group, further increasing support for LEPs in this area.

Delegates will discuss the future role of local authorities, the potential implications of publicly owned energy providers across the UK and the challenges for developing relationships and collaboration with distribution network operators, energy suppliers and community groups.

Further sessions will look at the challenges for local energy innovation, the impact of decentralised and community energy generation and supply on the national grid, forward investment into regional energy, and the financial significance, and market impact, of collective switching schemes.

Guest of Honour

Patrick Allcorn

Head of Local Energy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Guest of Honour

Patrick Allcorn

Head of Local Energy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy


Lord Redesdale

Chief Executive Officer, Energy Managers Association


Dr Tim Rotheray

Director, Association for Decentralised Energy

Martin Crouch

Senior Partner, Improving Regulation, Ofgem

Jan-Willem Bode

Director, London, Navigant

Wayne Bexton

Head of Energy Projects, Nottingham City Council

Dan McCallum

Co-Founder, Awel Aman Tawe

Dr Nina Skorupska

Chief Executive, Renewable Energy Association

Louise Goldsmith

Leader, West Sussex County Council

Emma Bridge

Chief Executive, Community Energy England

Christianna Logan

Energy Networks Insights Manager, SSE

Sam Mackilligin

Regional Director, AECOM

Camilla Usher-Clark

Partner, Burges Salmon

Nick Pincott

Partner, Energy & Renewables, TLT

Eric Leavy

Head of Design, SP Energy Networks