Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Competition in the UK energy market: prices, switching and tariffs

Morning, Thursday, 26th April 2018

Central London


Bringing together stakeholders with key policymakers from across the sector, this seminar will discuss the Government’s proposed plans to reduce the cost of energy bills and ensure the market works in the interests of customers.

It follows the publication of the Draft Domestic Gas and Electricity (Tariffs Cap) Bill that will place a temporary cap on energy prices, and the commissioning of Professor Dieter Helm to lead an independent review into energy affordability and ways in which the energy industry, government and regulators can keep the cost of electricity as low as possible, while ensuring the UK meets its domestic and international climate targets.

Discussion is also expected to include the role of Ofgem and the regulatory environment for the energy market with the introduction of a prepayment price cap through the use of ‘safeguard tariffs’, new CMA measures to help 700,000 restricted meter customers, and plans to make switching more convenient and transparent.

Further sessions are expected to discuss the range of technology options available to manage energy and reduce usage including the wider use of smart-meters that continue to be rolled out, as well as other methods such as the reduction of network access charging and a wider assessment of how the UK energy market operates and conducts business in the consumer interest. 

Guest of Honour

Dermot Nolan

Chief Executive Officer, Ofgem

Guest of Honour

Dermot Nolan

Chief Executive Officer, Ofgem

Keynote Speaker

Michael Lewis

Chief Executive Officer, E.ON UK


James Heappey MP

Officer, All-Party Parliamentary Group on Energy Studies


Natasha Hobday

Group Policy and Regulation Director, First Utility

Richard Neudegg

Head of Regulation & Compliance, ZPG

Frank Mitchell

Chief Executive Officer, SP Energy Networks

Greg Jackson

Chief Executive Officer, Octopus Energy

Peter Smith

Director of Policy and Research, National Energy Action