Westminster Energy, Environment & Transport Forum

Future prospects for Carbon Capture and Storage in the UK

Tuesday, 7th February 2017

One Moorgate Place, Chartered Accountants’ Hall, London EC2R 6EA


As the Government begins work to develop a new Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) strategy, this seminar will provide a timely opportunity to assess the next steps for CCS and carbon mitigation technology utilisation as part of the UK’s decarbonisation plans, as well as the policy implications of the referendum vote to leave the European Union for the UK’s ability to achieve legislated climate targets.

It follows the Government’s decision to scrap two projects as part of their £1 billion Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) commercialisation competition and to consider how the lessons from both the Peterhead and White Rose schemes should inform future decision-making. Further discussion will examine the report published by the cross-party Parliamentary Advisory Group on Carbon Capture and Storage chaired by Lord Oxburgh that recommended the establishment of a CCS Delivery Company to ensure that the least cost CCS is developed as well as suggesting that Government takes a central role in setting up the necessary pipeline infrastructure to make CCS work.

Further discussion will cover concerns raised in the former-Energy and Climate Change Committee report that the UK may not meet its climate change commitments without investment in CCS and low-carbon infrastructure, as well as future opportunities for CCS technology in the industrial sectors and the next steps for utilising and sharing existing infrastructure and pipelines in the North Sea, and what more can be done.

Guest of Honour

Will Lochhead

Head of CCS Policy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Guest of Honour

Will Lochhead

Head of CCS Policy, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy


Rt Hon the Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

President, Carbon Capture and Storage Association


Sarah Tennison

Low Carbon Manager, Tees Valley Combined Authority

Peter Whitton

Managing Director, Progressive Energy

Olav Skalmeraas

Vice President - Carbon Capture and Storage, Statoil

Stuart Greig

Head of Onshore and Subsurface System Policy, The Scottish Government

Simon Bittlestone

Audit Manager. National Audit Office

George Day

Head of Economic Strategy, Energy Technologies Institute

Tim Yeo

Chair, New Nuclear Watch Europe and former Chair, Energy and Climate Change Select Committee

Keith Beattie

Partner, Burges Salmon

Michael Padua

Acting Managing Director, Alberta United Kingdom Office, High Commission of Canada

Professor Jon Gibbins

Director, UK CCS Research Centre